Returning Students

Room Selection 2016-2017

Introduction

The Office of Housing and Residence Life is excited to begin our returning student room selection for the 2016-2017 academic year. This guide will provide important information on the room selection process.

Room selection will proceed in stages. Before starting the room selection process you should discuss housing plans for 2016-17 with your current roommate. Residents who are not currently a member of a learning community or not participating next year will be unable to make an assignment in that area.  If you are not sure about your plans, we encourage you to make an assignment. You can cancel by May 31, 2016, 11:59pm and get a full housing deposit refund. Since a deposit has already been submitted, another deposit is not required. A student currently living off-campus must submit a deposit of $150 to participate in the room selection process.  You may pay by credit/debit card, cash, or check at the office of Housing and Residence Life located on the 1st floor of Belk Hall.

For room selection, access Odyssey HMS through Braveweb and complete the 2016-17 Housing Agreement.  After you have successfully completed your housing agreement, you must return to the HMS homepage and make your assignment. Failure to reclaim your current assignment during the reclaiming periods forfeits any claim you have to the room.  Remember, Cypress Hall, Oak Hall, and Pine Hall are available as suite style halls, and if you are interested in apartment living with a 9-month agreement, we have the Village Apartments and the Courtyard Apartments.

HOUSING AGREEMENT

A student should understand that by entering into the Housing Agreement, they are liable for the room and board charges for the full academic year (August – May).  No cancellations of the Housing Agreement will be accepted after May 31, 2016 at 11:59pm.

Information/Demonstration Schedule

Staff is available every thirty minutes during the following sessions to demonstrate the room selection process and answer questions:

Dates      Location      Time
Tuesday, January 26      Main Office, Belk Hall      3:30, 4:00 & 4:30
Wednesday, February 3      Main Office, Belk Hall      3:30, 4:00 & 4:30
Monday February 22      Main Office, Belk Hall      3:30, 4:00 & 4:30
Wednesday, March 16      Main Office, Belk Hall      3:30, 4:00 & 4:30

 

Room Selection Process Stages

Reclaim your own space:  This period is for students that just want to reclaim their own space and no new roommate(s).  Go to Odyssey HMS, complete the agreement, return to the homepage and select “Reclaim my space Only”.

Reclaim with new roommate(s): If your roommate or suitemates are not reclaiming, you can select new roommate/suitemates. The reclaimant must list all new suitemates on their agreement.  The new roommate/suitemates must list only the reclaimant.  Only the reclaimant should return to HMS homepage, select “Reclaim With New Roommate(s)” and assign roommates within the suite.

Consolidation: For students in a double room without a roommate or in a suite or apartment that is not full, the University reserves the right to consolidate assignments to ensure full capacity.

New Assignment with roommate(s):  You may select from remaining spaces after current residents have reclaimed or reclaimed with new roommates.  After you have identified a roommate/suitemates on your agreement, only one roommate must return to HMS homepage, choose “Select a Room” and make the assignments.

New Assignment for Individuals:  This period is for students that want to make a different assignment.  You must complete an agreement, return to the HMS homepage and make your assignment from the remaining spaces.

Open Selection:  Students that did not select a room may choose from the remaining spaces.  You must complete an agreement, return to the HMS homepage and make your assignment.  Students who selected a room, but now want to change rooms can do so.  If you change rooms, HMS will not move your roommate with you. Your roommate must also logon to HMS and change the room.

Room Selection Process Dates

Courtyard Apartments:

Reclaim your own space      Mon. Jan 25 (9am) – Tues. Jan 26 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Wed. Jan 27 (9am) – Fri. Jan 29 (11:59pm)
New Assignment w/roommate(s)      Mon. Feb 1 (9am) – Wed. Feb 3 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Thur. Feb 4 (9am) – Fri. Feb 5 (11:59pm)

 

Village Apartments:

Reclaim your own space      Mon. Feb 1 (9am) – Wed. Feb 3 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Thur. Feb 4 (9am) – Mon. Feb 8 (11:59pm)
Consolidation      Tues. Feb 9 & Wed. Feb 12
New Assignment w/roommate(s)      Thur. Feb 11 (9am) – Mon. Feb 15 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Tues. Feb 16 (9am) – Wed. Feb 17 (11:59pm)

 

Cypress Hall:

Reclaim your own space      Thur. Feb 11 (9am) – Mon. Feb 15 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Tues. Feb 16 (9am) – Thur. Feb 18 (11:59pm)
Consolidation      Fri. Feb 19
New Assignment w/roommate(s)      Mon. Feb 22 (9am) – Wed. Feb 24 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Thur. Feb 25 (9am) – Fri. Feb 26 (11:59pm)

 

Oak Hall:

Reclaim your own space      Mon. Feb 22 (9am) – Tues. Feb 23 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Wed. Feb 24 (9am) – Thur. Feb 25 (11:59pm)
New Assignment w/roommate(s)      Fri. Feb 26 (9am) – Tues. Mar 1 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Wed. Mar 2 (9am) – Thur. Mar 3 (11:59pm)

 

Spring Break:

 March 7 – March 11

 

Pine Hall:

Reclaim your own space      Tues. Mar 15 (9am) – Wed. Mar 16 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Thur. Mar 17 (9am) – Mon. Mar 21 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Tues. Mar 22 (9am) – Thur. Mar 24 (11:59pm)

The remaining spaces will be reserved for incoming new students

Belk and North Hall:

Reclaim your own space      Mon. Mar 28 (9am) – Tues. Mar 29 (11:59pm)
Reclaim with new roommate(s)      Wed. Mar 30 (9am) – Thur. Mar 31 (11:59pm)
New Assignment w/roommate(s)      Fri. April 1 (9am) – Mon. April 4 (11:59pm)
New Assignment for Individuals      Tues. April 5 (9am – 11:59pm)

 

Open Room Selection:

                       Wed. April 6 (9am) – Fri. Apr. 15 (11:59pm)

Remember, students that did not select a room during a previous stage may select a room from the remaining spaces during Open Room Selection.

For additional information relative to Housing and Residence Life, visit our website at www.uncp.edu/housing


SEARCH DSA

© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke, 1 University Drive, Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 - 910.521.6000