Social Justice Committee


Encouraging people to discuss and analyze actions that can eliminate social inequality, not limited to race, gender, education, and rights of individuals. Additionally the committee discusses social justice within communities and the nation as a whole, while seeking to improve dialogue.

More importantly the committee is responsible for developing an annual symposium that empowers individuals to be self-determined, while empowering and challenging others to come together in building a solid foundation for the greater society.


Dr. Brooke Kelly- Sociology
Ms. Shakera Williams – Social Work Graduate Student
Dr. Frankie Denise Powell – Education
Mr. Virgil Oxendine – North Carolina Indian Housing Authority
Dr. Mary Ann Jacobs – American Indian Studies
Dr. Michele Fazio – Literature
Ms. Parker Watson – Student Involvement and Leadership
Dr. Jeff Bolles – Health Promotion
Professor Sailaja Vallabha – Chemistry
Dr. Scott Hicks – Literature
Ms. Lisa Gonzalez Bullard – Diversity and Inclusion
Dr. Robert L. Canida, II – Diversity and Inclusion and Committee Chair


At least 4 times out of an academic year and will be held in the
Multicultural Center


© The University of North Carolina at Pembroke, 1 University Drive, Pembroke, NC 28372-1510 - 910.521.6000